Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Apr 30, 2004, 6:54 PM   #1

Default Seek Printer Recommendation (Which One?)

Greetings to all...I am seeking opinions for selecting between printer choices and where to buy.

Quick Overview

I am relatively new to digital photography with a recent purchase of a FujiFilm FinePix S5000. (Sure wish I'd discovered Steve's review B4 I purchased on eBay a few months back as I also strongly considered a Canon Powershot.) My purchase decision was swayed by the lower pricing and telephoto capacity of the S5000. Over time it seems I did get a pretty good package price w/case, batteries & charger, and 128mb pic card for a middling quality 3mp camera.

I am not a photo hobbiest, per se, taking mostly general family pics, vacations, etc. But I think I have a little more discerning eye than what I preceive the run-of-the-mill picture taker does.

I have an HP laser as my primary printer, so my principal use of the inkjet will be as a photo printer, secondarily for occassional graphics. Operating cost is as important to me as is overall picture printing quality; speed is a secondary consideration as I won't be doing volume printing.

The Questions

From reviews and comments here and elsewhere, I'm leaning toward the Canon i960, although I'm also considering the less expensive i860 -- any more knowledgeable opinions about choosing between the two based on my above info. about picture taking and use of the printer would be most appreciated! And now, finally, based on your experience/expertise, are there recommended vendors for buying my printer? I've had good experiences in the past with Amazon, and they currently offer the lowest price w/free shipping at $178. for the i960 (if that is indeed the best cost/value printer for my use). I've watched eBay for a couple of weeks and found nothing enticing there. But maybe price isn't always everything when selecting a commercial vendor - or is it for these printers?