Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old May 8, 2004, 12:23 PM   #1

Any help in printer choice would be welcome. I am new to digital photopgraphy having just bought a Fuji 7000. I need a printer for printing A4 photo qulaity prints and general print work (kids homework, word documents etc. etc.) Although price is a consideration, I don't want to buy the cheapest. I also want something that is reasonably economical in terms of price per page. Printing speed is important as well, as I hate waiting around too long for things to print out. Print quality is the most oimportant issue - I want to print out photos to frame and hang around the house.

nmbradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2004, 1:25 PM   #2

Canon - no doubt. Excellent photo quality from any of the six-ink printers, and very economical to run.

ccomley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2004, 12:08 PM   #3

Thanks C Comley. Any suggestions as to which one? The i 865 and 965 look pretty good.
Old May 11, 2004, 5:53 PM   #4

865 if you want a great combo printer (fast cheap text+ good/great quality photos)
I use them in my portfolio and they compare well to epson 2200 prints.

965 if you want photos mainly (much better quality photos more expensive for text)
has a standalone option if you want it (no computer required printing)

995 if you want almost the ultimate (just getting out) adds an extra color for even more punch.

9950 check out the new review.. Awesume ..best of everything (except price per page for text).

Epson (slower, costs more per page, but better quality than 865/965)

R200 .. Cheapest
R300M .. Like the 965.

CastleDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2004, 4:42 AM   #5

A couple more questions please. Why is the 965 more expenive for text? Is the photo quality that much better?

I plan to use the printer to produce A4 size photos from a Fuji 7000 (at 5mp) to decorate our home. But I also need an everday printer too.