Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Jul 15, 2004, 12:37 PM   #1

Hello, I'm sure this is the most asked question, however I would like to hear some opinions. I am looking to get the best photo printer I can for the money. When I say the best, i'm talking about a price range that is not ridiculous, maybe 6 or $700 tops.

Honestly I would hope to not have to spend that much money but would probably be willing.Of course if the best printer costs $200 i'm more than happy with that and if there is a very very slight difference between a printer that sales for $200 and one that sales for $400 I would probably choose the $200 one. If the difference is substantial i'd get the higher priced one. I just want to get the best quality printer that I can have. I am new to this and have only researched the photo printers in the last few days but from what I see it seems Canon and Epson get the best reviews. I see wonderful things about the Canon I9900 and then I see wonderful things about the I960 which is less than half the price. Is the 9900 really worth the extra cost? Also I read good things on the Epson R800 and the R2200. The 2200 costs around $700. Is it really that much better than the Canon I9900? I know there are many factors to consider including print speed, cost of suppies etc but if we were only looking at print quality which one would be the very best and if that oneis one of the more expensive ones which one of the cheaper models comes closest or which one of the cheaper models is the best?

I hope this makes sense and would appreciate any advice/help.
jckrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2004, 3:54 PM   #2

First what are the size prints you will be printing.

My recommendations:
Canon i960 for prints that are 4X6 to 8X10, fast and great colors, six individual tanks saves on the cost of ink and also a user replaceable printhead. Cost $200 or less