Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Dec 28, 2005, 4:27 PM   #1461

safsurfer wrote:
Quote:
Hi- I'm new to this, but was waiting to buy an EU version of the ip5000 from expansys.com but now find they are discontinued. I have been following this forum on all the tray building and modifying work that everyone has been doing and was waiting for an exact solution before I dove in and made a purchase. Well, now I find the tray B can be purchased on ebay, search pixma cd, so I bought one, $35. So, now I would like to know if anyone knows if Canon is going to offer a USA model that can print cd/dvd? and Does anyone know which model is the best to make compatible with the tray B? I'm looking at the ip6000d because the inks are the same as a printer I currently own. I know the ip4000 and ip5000 have been discussed the most, but will the ip6000d act the same way and modify the same way? thanks for any help you can give.
I don't know about any future Canon plans to offer CD label printing in the US. The tray you have works with the iP6000D and also with the new 6620, which may be a better choice, since it already has the rollers built in. The official tray for the new models is tray C, not B, but someone who bought a tray B from me reported that it works fine with his 5200. See http://pixma.webpal.info for instructions and more info.

By the way, does anyone know if Canon is still selling the tray in the US? Several people reported ordering them directly from the Canon service department, so I stopped ordering the parts overseas, and I suppose others did the same thing, because now nobody is selling them on eBay anymore. I still have a couple of mini CD / business card size adapters left if anyone needs one.
jonbgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2005, 6:30 PM   #1462