Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Oct 29, 2002, 4:06 PM   #1

Default about to purchase

the canon s900 (the 9000's unfortuantely too expensive).... however, i was a little worried that the text quality wouldn't be very nice b/c i read a few reviews on cnet and on eopinions. do you guys think it prints text ok? i'm a college student, so of course i'm going to be turning in papers.
blackandwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 29, 2002, 4:26 PM   #2

oh and i also read the colors fade/turn a yellow evern reddish color. is this true???
Old Oct 29, 2002, 4:49 PM   #3

Black and White

Can you go to a local store, Best Buy, Circuit City, etc., and see a demo print. I have the HP 5550 which can do 6 color photo printing or can produce standard text documents. The quality of the text and photo docs are outstanding.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2002, 2:58 AM   #4

The Canon S900 is capable of producing very good quality text but it is slower than a general purpose printer.

The colour change that you are referring to is normally called gas fading or sometimes orange shift. Blacks start to turn brown, sometimes in as little as 3 weeks. It results from exposure to the air and seems to be a particular problem in humid atmospheres or in the prescence of ozone. It is a real problem for some people, other never experience it. The effect is minimal for prints kept behind glass or in an album. It can be minimised by the choice of paper - matte papers seem to be more resistant than gloss, and the Ilford Galerie Classic series papers appear to be particularly resistant.

Prints from all photo printers which use dye based inks are subject to gas fading. The only photo printer which does not use dye based inks is the Epson 2200 - it uses pigment inks. The general purpose Epson C82 also uses pigment inks. Pigment inks, however, do not work well on glossy paper.

Chris
Chris R is offline   Reply With Quote