Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Nov 12, 2002, 12:03 AM   #1

Default Canon i550 & i850 SAME?

Does anybody have any experience with the new canon i550? i've read a lot about the i850 on this site, and on the canon.com site, when compared, the only difference between them seems to be the speed (and the price). Is there some other difference that accounts for the extra cost, or is speed the only factor?

Thanks, in advance, for any help
-Aline Claire
Aline Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 19, 2002, 10:47 PM   #2

Aline,

The i550 is an all purpose printer. The i850 is listed under the photo printer section on the Canon website. The biggest difference besides speed is that the i850 has 1600 nozzles and the i550 has 1008. This should translate into better details in photos along with greater speed. I noticed a difference in the store. I'm a part-time photographer so I'd get the i850. But if I only wanted to print an occasional photo, I'd get the i550. Both printers sold out within hours of arriving at the store. The Canon Rep was a professional photographer, he was taking snapshots with a digital camera and printing them out on the printers, very impressive quality for both printers.

Bill
wsandman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2002, 1:33 AM   #3

Thanx for the info
I have an i550 sitting on my comp desk now, and I've experimented with printing a few pix already. I compared them with a copy of the same print that I had made with my old Epson 740 (before its heads got severely clogged), and they were comparable, though the epson had more vivid colours (the canon was actually more realistic i suppose hehehehe)