Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Dec 12, 2002, 10:13 AM   #1

Default Dye Sub Versus Inkjet

I am new to digital photography but have a lot of experience on 35m SLR. I have just purchased my first digicam, an Olympus c5050.

I want to be able to print top quality photos up to 10 x 8 and would like to know the difference in quality between a Dye Sublimation printer (say a Kodak 8500 or Olympus P-400) and a top quality Inkjet printer like a Canon 900. I have read Steve's reviews of both types but only want to make a single investment and try to get it right first time. Leaving aside the cost of consumables quality is my main concern.

Any advice would be appreciated. :lol:
john.cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 12, 2002, 10:26 AM   #2
lg

I can't speak to the quality of anything but an Epson C80 printer, and I am very pleased with it. As far as the differences between dye sub and inkjet, here are some things you need to consider:

- most inkjets use ink that will fade over a period of time when exposed to sunlight. There are some on the market (like the Epson C80) that advertise longevity of 75 years.

- as most inkjets are water-based dyes, one of their naturally occurring enemies is water.

- the cost of inkjet prints may be substantially more than that of some of the newer dye sub printers.

- most of the dye-sub printers I've seen output 4x6 prints. I haven't seen any that print up to 8x10, so my guess is that the ones that do cost lots of money.

I hope this helps!
lg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2002, 11:09 AM   #3