Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Dec 30, 2002, 9:15 AM   #1

Default Canon S820 vs I850

Steve, I have read both your reviews of the Canon S820 and I850 and have a few questions. I purchased a Kodak DC4800 about nine months ago based on your informative, excellent review and am now just finally starting to edit with Paint Shop Pro 7 and I print the photos on a HP 932C.
Will both the Canon S820 & I850 print good B&W glossies ? I use my HP printer to print text, B&W photos, and color photos. I'm looking for the best performance and economy printer - I do want good text, graphics, and very good photos. In your opinion should I buy the S820 or I850? If the S820 is the better of the two, is it a lot costlier per print for the two extra photo cartridges?

Thanks in advance for your reply,
Don Springer

PS I posted this on the Inkjet - Inks, etc by mistake .. I'm just a newbie.
dspringer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2003, 1:45 PM   #2

Default i'm not steve

he seams to go out of his way saying on reviews of 900 & 9000 that these are not B&W picture printer at all. Seams that none of the canon are. Epson 960 & 2200 with there special black photo ink cartridges are the printer to buy if your into B&W printing everyone says.
PhotoMenace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2003, 3:37 PM   #3

i am asking the same question as you although in steves review the i850 does print better black and whites then some other canons any other opinions
mattjac33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2003, 4:19 PM   #4

Steve has made a comment on the cannon printers that true black and white were achieved when he switched to the XP operating system. He also commented that it must be the drivers for Win98 that create the black and white printing problems. XP + Cannon + great black and white prints.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2003, 3:23 AM   #5