Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Nov 7, 2005, 12:59 PM   #1

Hi All,

I have a brother laser printer that died on me yesterday (5years it lasted). the drumkit needs replacing, that cost ~£100 or so.

I thought I could buy a Canon MP760 with a little bit more. Then it struck me:

How long (or pages) does the printhead last on a canon printer?

How much do they cost?

I'll be using the printer for some photo and documents etc...

Thanks for your help

roks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 8, 2005, 3:58 PM   #2

I'm not an expert on canon print heads, but I do know that they do not fail as often as they do for other manufacturers. Even with the use of 3rd party ink's they don't clog up (as often).Also from what I've observed, the print heads sell for around $30. Also since canon print heads are removable, there is the possibility of soaking the print head in a cleaner and reviving it.
eric93se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2005, 6:14 PM   #3

roks wrote:
Quote:
Hi All,

I have a brother laser printer that died on me yesterday (5years it lasted). the drumkit needs replacing, that cost ~£100 or so.

I thought I could buy a Canon MP760 with a little bit more. Then it struck me:

How long (or pages) does the printhead last on a canon printer?

How much do they cost?

I'll be using the printer for some photo and documents etc...

Thanks for your help

The question you are asking is like asking how long a lightbulb will last.. which when you get right down to it thermal jets are basicly a coil and a wire.

The estimated printhead life based on some pretty bogus tests. 1500 character patern is about 1/2 of a normal typed page... the a4 7.5% duty per color is somewhat realistic for pie charts and things. Not sure about their a6 and postcard estimates as they are none too specific.

The last time I worked it out, the offical estimated life is in the neighborhood of 10 or 20 cartridge changes or so.

PIXMA iP4000