Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Dec 11, 2005, 9:02 PM   #1

I am looking to buy a printer so that I can print photos at home. I have been doing some reasearch, but for the most part I am new to this so I thought I'd ask for some opinions. I have $200 to spend on a printer so I am assuming this means that I'll be looking at inkjet printers. I also assume that I should get a Photo Printer as opposed to say an all in one printer but I don't know that for sure. I see canon printers score well in reviews as far as quality and reliability. I also noticed while looking through some of the topics on this forum that canon printers seemed to be liked. Id like to be able to print up to 8.5 x 11 and dont really need to print much other than images and photos. So any suggestions for a $200 printer?

Thanks
mezark is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2005, 11:27 PM   #2

You don't say which dollars you're spending, so I'll assume US$.

You are correct to assume you'll be looking at inkjets.

If you don't propose printing a lot, probably one of the Canon range (try and check the output of the sub-$200 units before deciding.)

If you'll be using the printer regularly, one of the Epson "R" series will give you excellent prints plus they come with (IMHO -- others may differ :-)) the most reliable software.

They also seem to have the best choice of aftermarket (read cheap) inks.

Do note, though, that Epson inkjets in general don't like being left unused, and the lower range units can be temperamental.
Idle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2005, 12:11 AM   #3

Idle did touch on one reason many don't like Epsons--printhead clogging
especially if not used regularly. The Canons not only don't clog as easily
but their printheads are user removable and cleanable.

But for $200., you have a wide variety of choices and being a Canon fan, I will recommend some Canon models. I will also note I own a Canon ip4000 and an MP730.