Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Jan 20, 2006, 11:22 AM   #1

I am not a professional photographer but want a good photo printer. If I get something like the Canon iP5000 or, if I can locate one, a Canon i960 will I have problems with clogging if the printer sits idle for a couple of weeks or is only used for text printing during that time? Any recommendations?
This is a great forum, I've learned a lot from all of you.
red1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 20, 2006, 8:44 PM   #2

To red1,

In general Canon printers are good at sitting idle for months. Unlike Epsons.
But the ip5000 and the i960 are slightly different printers---the i960 is a dedicated photoprinter---it lacks a text black cartridge--and the ip5000 has a BCI-3eblk text cartridge and is more general purpose.

But any ink jet printer will have clog problems if left idle for more than four months.

Its best to use any inkjet at least once a month.
Osage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 8:46 PM   #3

I have a ip5000 and it is all I want in a printer. It makes prints to A4 or 10 x 8 and to me they are as good as commercials ones. My printer is left switched off for a couple of months occasionally when I am travelling with no problems whatsoever.

My daughter has the ip 4200 model (used to be ip4000) and I cannot see any difference. If I were buying again I would save the money and get the 4200.

I aslo use generic inks other than the expensive Canon ones. The difference in price here in Australia is Canon $A24..The generic $A6.50 they are Tonny and I buy them vis maiol order from Sydney. They were recommended by PC user as "top Buy".

It does mean I print mainly 10 x 8 or full page A$ without worrying about the price of ink

Fred
Bootneck2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2006, 8:57 PM   #4

I have just read another question on the Canon printers...check forum.