Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Apr 13, 2006, 7:09 PM   #1

Hello -
I recently ordered a set of Procolor replacement cartridges for my Pixma IP5000 from alotofthings.com. According to alotofthings, the Procolor carts are filled with Formulabs ink, so this was a way for me to test whether I'd be happy with Formulabs ink before buying bulk bottles of the stuff.

I've compared photos printed with the Formulabs ink in the Procolor carts to the identical photo printed (with identical settings) with Canon OEM ink. To my surprise I see a significant color shift in skin tones. Compared to the OEM ink, the Formulabs ink is bluer with a bit less magenta, and a bit desaturated. I started playing with the color settings under 'color options', and found that -10 cyan, +10 magenta, +5 yellow, +5 intensity was getting me closer to the look of the OEM ink, though the match was still far from exact.

What gives? My impression from other messages on this board is that Formulabs ink should match the color of OEM ink very closely right out of the box. Is this incorrect? Is there some sort of standard correction that people use to match Forumlabs Ink to OEM ink?

Lastly, for the purposes of this test I was using some old Xerox glossy photo paper I had lying around. I'm assuming this should not make a difference -- even if this isn't the world's greatest paper and in absolute terms may not yield accurate color, both Canon OEM ink and Forumlabs ink should still look the same when printed on it. Since my OEM cartridges are now empty I don't really have the option of starting the test over using Canon glossy paper.

Any advice appreciated.

Zack
Zack23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 13, 2006, 8:15 PM   #2

Hi Zack23,

First, formulalabs ink is usually highly regarded with a reputed almost exact color match to Canon OEM.

But you are in troubleshooting mode and somewhat doing exactly the wrong things.