Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old Apr 28, 2003, 12:26 AM   #1

Default Advice photo prntr-canon 830D, Canon 950, HP7550, epson 950

I am planning on purchasing a photo printer and having a difficult time deciding on the best features for the $. I am looking to spend between $200-$350 and will be using it with a canon G2. The important features to me are photo quality, being able to print directly from my camera or a printer that has card readers/and a display screen, and ink cost. I have done some research and have it narrowed down to the Canon 830D, Canon 950, HP7550, or Epson 950. Any input would be greatly appreciated as I am just getting started in digital photography.

Thanks
robertsf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 28, 2003, 2:02 AM   #2

I like the canon i950 for its photo quality printing.

The HP is an overall good printer, better text quality but not as good photos (4 colours as opposed to the canon with 6)

Epson, there not bad for photos either

:P
Gimli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 12:30 PM   #3

HP 7550 does print very good photos. It still has a layering effect on the photos. The depth of the photos tends to be its weakest point. The cannon tends to get very good results as far as setting up right out of the box.

Epson is an incredible printer. Once you get it tweaked you can get some spectacular photos.
Gregersonsalvage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 9:22 PM   #4

Another huge reason to avoid HP is that the ink bleeds off of their papers easily when they get just slightly damp, even on their premium glossy paper.