Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Printers > Photo Inkjet

Old May 2, 2003, 5:42 PM   #1

Default Best sub $200 printer

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to the photography hobby.I was given a Fuji S602Z for my birthday from my wife.Now after sometime we are looking to buy a printer.What I am interested in is photo printing only.I have another old printer that gets the job done for other things like text documents and such.

Can anyone recommend a good printer that costs under $200 or close.My main concern is quality of the prints.Time it takes to print isn't nearly as big an issue with me and neither is having a bunch of features.I just basically want to take pictures and then be able to print out something that looks as good as a real photo if its possible.

Thanks for any help you can give.

Ernie
Ernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 2, 2003, 10:33 PM   #2

Ernie,

I have the Canon i950 which produces prints that are beyond belief. You can not tell the difference between real photos and your prints. The cost is over $200 but not much, $249 at Amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...B/mjbdesign-20

If that is too much to spend the Canon i850 which goes for $149 is almost as good.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...X/mjbdesign-20

I actually have two printers the Epson 2200 and the Canon i950. The epson is about $700 and the i950 is right there with it with quality.

Good luck,

Mike
mrtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2003, 1:17 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtoad
Ernie,

I actually have two printers the Epson 2200 and the Canon i950. The epson is about $700 and the i950 is right there with it with quality.

Good luck,

Mike
But what about color Gamut.
Gregersonsalvage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2003, 5:40 PM   #4