Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Photo-sharing Site Links

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 2, 2004, 11:15 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Stevekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,611
Default

RyanH, what i meant was that i thought you could only post a link to the pbase.com site for viewing images and cannot have them automatically open with your post here on the forum or any other forum for that matter, unless you pay to upgrade your facilities.

I haven't got time time right now to go through Ferny's tutorial, will have a look later, but do you mean that i can post a pic here right now without having any photo sharing website facility? I did just quickly try the browse button and when i previewed the image wasn't visible but i had the option to delete the image. Would this, if it works, mean that the link is a direct one to my hard drive ??

Thanks

Stevekin.
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 11:29 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Stevekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,611
Default

Just read Ferny's guide. Here goes. Just quickly cobbled this together with my trusty Ricoh Caplio RR30. My A2 has the TCON-17 and the BP-400 gripattached. sorry about the quality, in a rush to get out !
Attached Images
 
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 11:32 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Stevekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,611
Default

This is what i meant. The image is an attachment, just like i think it would be from pbase.com(without paying) and not open all on it's own. Or did i do something wrong ??

Stevekin.
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 11:55 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Stevekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,611
Default

I think i get it now.

If i want to post an image to be seen immediately, then sign up for an account that allows that kind of link. But i can have a quick fix using the browse button here.

I suspect that little thing called ego disappointed me when my image didn't open all on it's own.:GSo when i've decided which host to go with i can give little old ego a boost.

If that is right, thanks to all for your help. If not please help again and i'll try not to go round the houses again !!

Thanks RyanH

Stevekin.


Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 12:00 PM   #15
TC3
Senior Member
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,169
Default

I use fotopic for now and works well for me
TC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 12:13 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
RyanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 452
Default

No problem Stevekin.

I think your problem is that you have spaces in the name of your pic. I saved your pic without spaces in the name, and posed it using the browse button.

If you right-click on the pic and choose properties, you will see that it is hosted on Steve's server.



Attached Images
 
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 12:19 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
RyanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 452
Default

And I just tried linking to pbase.com, and it doesn't seem to work.

Photobucket.com does seem to work though -



Pic linked directly from photobucket.com demo account.

--------
Ryan
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 1:20 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Stevekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,611
Default

Try again !!


Attached Images
 
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 1:28 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
RyanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 452
Default

I am not sure what that attachment is. It isn't a pic, so I think it would explain why it isn't showing.

Also, when you post pics, try and make sure they are not larger than 640x480. This will help out those with dial-up. Note as well that your attached pic can't be larger than 250K.
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2004, 1:32 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Stevekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,611
Default

It is the same pic, just changing the file name as you suggested. 182kb in size. Can't seem to get it open on it's own though.

Stevekin


EDIT : My mistake. I saved the open attachment i posted first.
Stevekin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.