Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Plug-ins & Actions (Photoshop and compatible)

Old Jan 27, 2009, 10:48 PM   #1

I'm new to mac and unlike my windows mouse there's no way to right click and choose to read the exif.

Is there a way to do this with a mac?

Thanks
-Mike
lomitamike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 28, 2009, 6:20 AM   #2
Administrator

If you're looking for a tool that allows you to see the EXIF from within a browser, try this Firefox add-on (Exif Viewer by Alan Ranskin). It's cross platform (works with Windows, Mac, Linux versions of Firefox), and I use it from within Firefox under both Windows and Linux.

http://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3905

If you're looking for a way to see the EXIF in photos on your hard drive without using a browser, I don't know the answer (I don't use a Mac). With my current Linux distro (SimplyMEPIS 8.0 Release Candidate 2), I can simply perform a "Mouse Over" (hold the cursor over an image icon within a folder) using the default Konquerer file manager, and the image information pops up. There may be something similar you can do with a Mac. Hopefully, someone using one will see this post and respond.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2009, 6:28 AM   #3

I use Graphic Converter to read my EXIF data from any photo. Without opening Photoshop, Graphic Converter is quicker to use. Its free from many sources and handy for any Mac operator.
Bynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2009, 10:31 PM   #4

Thanks for the replies.

I'm looking for something simple for my browser. Used to use opanda with windows, I was hoping to find something as simple to use with OS X 10.5.6.

I did find a exif viewer in iphoto 08.
Old Jan 31, 2009, 9:29 AM   #5
Administrator

Quote:
I'm looking for something simple for my browser.