Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing General

Old Jan 15, 2005, 12:24 PM   #1

I am new to the world of Digital photography having bought a 20d; i realise, reading the comments in these forums, that i have much to learn. My first question concerns printing. Can someone advise whether I need to set the resolution of an image before printing (Photoshop elements Image- change size-resolution) or whether this is done automatically when i set the page size. In other words if i want to print in 5x7 and want the highest quality should I enter a resolution of 300 or so or is this set by default by the software when I enter the page size in 'Page set Up'. I use PS elements or when i want borderless prints , Easy Photo-Print. Thanks in advance for any help.
nigel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2005, 4:26 PM   #2

nigel wrote:
Quote:
I am new to the world of Digital photography having bought a 20d; i realise, reading the comments in these forums, that i have much to learn. My first question concerns printing. Can someone advise whether I need to set the resolution of an image before printing (Photoshop elements Image- change size-resolution) or whether this is done automatically when i set the page size. In other words if i want to print in 5x7 and want the highest quality should I enter a resolution of 300 or so or is this set by default by the software when I enter the page size in 'Page set Up'. I use PS elements or when i want borderless prints , Easy Photo-Print. Thanks in advance for any help.

Hi Nigel,

I'm quite a newbie at this myself but if you read Slipes comments here

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=32

He explains how to resize/crop if required, he does use 4x6 but you could just use your own size.

Also look here for image sizes for printing images a different sizes

http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=32