Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing General

Old Jun 2, 2005, 12:56 AM   #1

so i'm new to doing prints with digital cameras, so what do you guys think of the quality of in-store 4x6 prints. i know they print at 3:2, and most cameras shot and 4:3, so there is some croping, no biggie. but lets say i'll be shooting with an Pentax Optio S5i (http://www.steves-digicams.com/2004...s/optios5i.html) it's 5 megapixels, so the prints should be great quality right? and comapred to shooting with standard 35mm point and shoot camera? i know this must be a question you get all the time, but i'm new to all this. any help would be great! thanks in advance guys!
astralboy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 3, 2005, 10:28 AM   #2

Probably with a 4x6 print, anything over 3MP won't make much difference unless they have extremely accurate equipment and you want to look at with a powerful magnefing glass.

I always shoot at 6MP with my camera, and even when I printed at home with my Canon i560 at max resolution at the 8.5x11 size, I still believe the printer was the limiting factor for resolution. Though you can't see the ink dots without a magnefing glass.
Carskick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2005, 11:12 PM   #3

Astralboy

Idon't print at a store.

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"The print quality can be bad because stores don't replentish their chemicals often enough, or the machine hasn't been calibrated correctly.

You'll get better quality using a high quality photo paper on any decent quality ink-jet printer. I've used HP premium photo paper on a $100 HP printer and got some pretty stunning results. Plus, you can print, re-print, and adjust to really control the quality of your print.

As far as megapixels are concerned, a 5 megapixel camera should print a stunning 4x6 print. It would probably look as good as a point and shoot.

I use a 8 meg camera and I get pretty stunning 8x10 photos.