Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Dec 1, 2007, 1:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

with the demo version..

I got the PNG image from here..

http://www.colorup.org/prchk.htm

I clicked on the image link "PrinterCheck" and then did a right click "save as.." to the desktop.

In PSCS2 it says the embedded profile is sRGB and the print size is 10x10 inches..
In QImage I am using 8.5x11 paper size. When I drag the thumb to the right pane as "original size" it entirely fits in the preview window and the que shows:

<12.00 x 12.00 300 PPI- 56 MB- sRGB.icm

When I right click the preview panel image at right and click on "edit page", actual print size is shown as 12.00 x 12.00. I then click on "details" and it says:

resolution: 3600 x 3600
ICC profile: <no embedded ICC profile>

my 2 questions are:

1. Shouldn't the embedded profile show as sRGB in "details"? It seems to show that way in the que.
2. How do I get the image to print EXACTLY as the web site is requesting?

When I print it, it always prints the first 3/4 of the image from the left edge..that is, the right side of the printout ends to the right of the "60" square but to the left of the "65" and "70" squares..

thanks,

Rick Warburton

Etrsi_645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 4, 2007, 9:53 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

Qimage doesn't support embedded data for PNG files. You could convert it to a more "standard" format like TIFF and that would solve the problem, but the easiest thing is to simply drop down the size in Qimage, select "Custom", and enter 10 x 10 as the size. There's no need to do anything other than that. Qimage will assume sRGB for the file anyway so no need to worry about color space.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 10:54 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

ok, I will try that, thanks,

Rick
Etrsi_645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2007, 11:06 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
Default

One further question about it. When I had it set to 12x12 my printing went like this.

"When I print it, it always prints the first 3/4 of the image from the left edge..that is, the right side of the printout ends to the right of the "60" square but to the left of the "65" and "70" squares.."

I was not getting wysiwyg printing. Was there a way to preview exactly that part of the image which was going to print? The right panel screen always showed the full image, as I remember, but it only printed 3/4 of the image..

thanks,

Etrsi_645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2007, 9:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

If it isn't printing exactly what you see on the preview page in Qimage, you have a data bottleneck problem between the driver and your computer. One/both of these articles should help:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/techc...uary_2006.html
http://www.steves-digicams.com/techc...pril_2006.html

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:27 AM.