Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 22, 2008, 10:23 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Hello all, I am new to the forum.... immediate reason for joining is Mike's January article about the Sharpeness Equalizer. I followed the link to the old Outbackphoto article and the 3Dpresharpener... but it turned out that this plug-in is no longer for sale. As a part time photographer, I do small commercial and real estate shoots and never deliver prints, just files on CD. So my question : Is it possible to use Qimage to produce a JPG or Tif file without any implied printing sizes or lay-out,, or alternatively, would Mike be interested in making a Sharpeness Equalizer plug-in available at an appropriate price?

Thanks, Jef
JefDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 25, 2008, 7:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

The sharpness equalizer in Qimage does not depend on print size like the final print sharpening feature. It works the same as unsharp mask and in fact, it is just a "modifier" to the unsharp mask. So you can set an unsharp mask of say 2 pixels radius and 150% strength and crank up the equalizer slider to see the effect.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2008, 3:59 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks Mike for your reply, but I am still not sure how to go ahead... If have been reading the tutorial and tried the program... yes, I can see the changes Sharpness Equalizer brings to the image, but I can't figure out how to then save that picture as a JPG or Tif file. I have used "print to file", but what I get is an FLT file of 2.4 Kb, which I suppose is only a set of instructions. So, I refrase my question : if I buy the program, can I use it to apply the Sharpeness Equalizer, and maybe interpollation and sharpening, and then save this file as a JPG or Tif, either to put it on CD as a finished image, or to work on it further in Photoshop ?

Jef
JefDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2008, 8:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

If you have some images where you've applied the sharpness EQ, just add them to the queue and then right click in the queue and select "Convert Images". Pick a file type like JPG and you'll get JPG versions of the images in the queue with the sharpness EQ applied.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2008, 4:38 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for that !
JefDB is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:13 PM.