Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 18, 2008, 7:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Hi

If you are printing with Qimage, but sharpening in PS CS3(plug-in), should sharpening in Qimage be turned off?



roa5100xx
roa5100xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 19, 2008, 10:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

Welcome to the forum! That depends. If your CS3 sharpening routing is a print sharpening routine, then yes: turn it off in Qimage. If your sharpening routine is just intended to sharpen the image/photo itself (for example, maybe some selective sharpening), then you'd want to keep the final print sharpening ON in Qimage. In general, it is best to just leave the sharpening to Qimage and not even fool with it outside of Qimage. I always suggest that people try leaving the image alone (as far as size and sharpening) and just print it with Qimage, tweaking Qimage's final print sharpening to taste. Then use your PS routine and turn sharpening off in Qimage and print that way for comparison purposes. Compare the two. I've never heard anyone say PS did a better job compared to just letting Qimage handle it! You might be surprised what Qimage can do as far as sharpening your prints.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2008, 5:43 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Hi,

Thank you for your reply. Love Qimage. Can Qimage do Selective sharpening?

roa5100xx
roa5100xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2008, 9:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

Qimage doesn't do selective sharpening. All of Qimage's tools are "corrective" in nature rather than "creative". That is, all of Qimage's filters are meant to be quick/global effects like brightness, contrast, levels, curves, etc. The only thing "selective" that Qimage can do that affects only part of the image is the blemish/red-eye tool and cropping tool. The creative stuff is reserved for photo editors.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:09 AM.