Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Old Apr 29, 2008, 4:11 PM   #1

I'm new to Qimage and I'm running the Pro version thru Fusion on a Mac to a B9180. I'd read where Qimage was a great program with a non-intuitive interface and both seem to be running true. After a lot of frustration, I finally managed to get an single image queued up for an 11x17 sheet of paper to print at 9.96x15 inches. When I tried to print I was warned to "close the Specialty Media Tray". I then knew that the printer was mistakenly trying to print from the interior Main Tray (my experience w/ printing thru PSCS#). So I accessed printer settings thru Qimage and at first took the paper source off of "Main Tray" and chose "Select Automatically". I got the exact same error message. My next option was to set the driver to "Specialty Media Tray" - but it made no difference. Qimage does not seem to be communicating with the printer properly about what tray to use. It's not a total lack of communication because I successfully printed two smaller prints thru Qimage from the main tray. But it can't seem to shift gears to the tray for larger paper. ???

UPDATED: I continued toying with the program and got it to print. Apparently the first time I was changing tray settings, it was in an XP dialog box: "Print Setup". That box offered a choice of paper trays but making the choice there was ineffective. The second time I tried, I noticed the Print Setup box had a printer "Properties" button. Pressing that, and waiting a longish 6-8 seconds (Fusion??), brought up an **HP** driver dialog box which also offered settings for choosing the tray. These settings work. I'm gonna do a totally Mac enthusiast thing and blame the difficulties on XP. I shouldn't be offered settings choices which won't work unless I first go elsewhere and make the SAME choices. MS rubbish !
dandaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 30, 2008, 7:33 AM   #2