Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Oct 6, 2005, 3:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Hi, Everyone!

I just bought the latest version of Qimage. Did a printing comparison between A4 color landscape printings done with it and with ps cs2. The prints printed with Qimage obviously has more details.

I set the resolution of the photos at 360 ppi, because someone wrote somewhere that it is the resolution to go for Epson printers. I also tried 300 ppi and 240 ppi, couldn't see much difference.

My question is, to retain as much detail as possible, what resolution should I use?

Thanks in anticipation.

James
JamesQu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2005, 10:44 AM   #2
Member
 
BrianP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 76
Default

Hi James

The Ideal workflow is to leave ALL the interpolation to QImage.
Start with your camera file in Photoshop, and do all your adjustments to colour, etc without resizing or sharpening. Flatten and save as a .tif file.
Bring it into the QImage queue at the size you want (make sure the Crop Button - the scissors - is clicked on), and crop it in the page editor. You can click the little magnifying glass to enter the precision crop area if necessary. It uses sticky crops, so the next time you load that photo at that size it will remember your crop. Adjust the sharpness level after you have seen a print.
This way the file only undergoes one interpolation, from camera to printer resolution, using the best algorithms in the business., which is why you get the best results.

HTH

Brian
BrianP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2005, 8:38 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you, Brian!

I will try your method next time when I print. I think I will also compare the printing results between the ones with and without sharping in PS 'cause I do like the results of the sharpening techniques I am using. Let's see what the Qimage can do.

Appreciate your help.

James
JamesQu is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.