Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24, 2006, 1:14 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Just downloaded a trial version and I think it is a great program. I did some printing and found that the images were further sharpened by Qimage. Some other forum's member mentions that it is best to let Qimage does all sharpening and save the efforts of sharpening in Photoshop, etc.

However, if I don't sharpen ahead of time, how would I know the end results from Qimage if the sharpness is what I wanted? In other words, if I sharpen all my pics in PP, then turn off the sharpening features in Qimage, then I can be sure what the quality is when the pics get printed.

Can someone shed some lights of how this workflow should be in regarding to sharpening? thanks
ourcookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2006, 7:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

I have an article here at Steve's that goes over these points:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/techc...mber_2004.html

The bottom line is that you want to sharpen the image itself (the original, before any resampling) so that it looks as sharp as it "should" look at 100% zoom. At that point, sharpness is correct on screen so all you have to do is set the final print sharpening in Qimage so that you get a print that looks as sharp as its screen counterpart.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.