Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Printing - Qimage Support Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Aug 6, 2006, 11:06 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I have succesfully used QImage using my HP printer and Adorama using their specific profiles. But, when I have used MPIX and the MPIXprofiles the colors come back overdone. This did match the proofing done in QImage.

Should I not use the MPIX icc and instead use the general srgb profile? Why would a specific profile not produce the best outcome?

Thanks

James
jacraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 10, 2006, 9:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

There are many reasons that an ICC profile may not work properly from having the wrong profile to not setting the driver options correctly for the profile, or even selecting the wrong options in Qimage (rendering intent, BPC, etc.). The best suggestion I can give is to go over all your settings in both Qimage and the driver to be sure the settings are correct for the profile you are using. If the profile didn't come with recommended settings for the print driver, it is useless since a profile can only be used with a particular driver setup.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2006, 8:57 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

If it is a useless profile, what settings would you recommend? A standard SRGB setting or leave the printer profile to OFF? What happens if the printer profile is set to off?

Thanks for your reply. I love your program!

James
jacraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2006, 9:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 556
Default

I have some articles related to how/when to use profiles in Tech Corner here at Steve's:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/techcorner/tc_index.html

You may find the info you need there, but usually whenever a company/service supplies you with profiles, they will have the information you need. If they don't provide you with text describing how to set up the profiles, you should ask them. They may have the answer.

Mike
http://www.ddisoftware.com
mchaney is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.