Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Misc Forums > Remote Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 5, 2004, 12:43 PM   #1
dug
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default

OK,

i've got two Canon EOS 300D's... and i wrote a program that lets me open each camera and then download all the images on each camera... but i'd like to be able to distinguish the cameras, so that this is reflected in the filenames of the images that come out of each camera...

i thought that there must have been some sort of 'unique ID' for each camera, like the camera bodies serial number or something but i have been unable to find any kind of distinguishing attribute that i can use...

any one got any ideas???

many thanks,
dug.
dug is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 15, 2004, 10:33 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 17
Default

I'm not a programmer, but you should be able to take it off the exif information.
mspivey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2004, 3:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Hi. Which version of the SDK do you have? I got the new Canon SDK 7 from Canon. But unfortunately canon has removed support for Visual Basic from this SDK version. If you have SDK version 6 (which canon tells me supports VB), can you please email it to me at anam @ bol-online .dot. com . Help will really be appreciated.
anam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2004, 11:53 AM   #4
dug
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Default

sorry i don't deal with Visual Basic, only MFC and C++, and i am using SDK version 8, [edit: which does support VB 6 by the looks of it, why can't you get it from canon yourself?].

and what do you mean by 'exif' information?
dug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2004, 1:28 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Hello,

Can you connect and initialize both of your cameras at the same time? I was reading through the documentation and it says the following for the RCOpenSource

"[Win] It is not possible to connect multiple cameras of the same model to the computer."

This ruins most of my project plans.
Budric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2004, 2:20 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 3
Default

what happens if you connect the 2 cameras? Does windows pick them both up?

planir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2004, 12:58 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
Default

Hey there,

Does the SDK have a facility to write your own firmware or is it just for external applications????

Raavin
Raavin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2004, 8:15 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

can you send me your 7 version

my email is zhouhongjie74@yahoo.con.cn

Thanks!
:-):-)


zhouhongjie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2005, 5:45 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Hi jug

can you send me your8 version?

I realy want it , help me , thank you very mush!

my email is fsh21@hotmail.com

:-):-):-)
fushenghong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 20, 2005, 3:34 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Hi!

Can you send me canon sdk by email because it's very difficult to get it here.

Please, help me. I want tomake sw for astronomy.

Thank you.



email : kmac6868@empal.com
KMAC6868 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:58 PM.