Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Resizing / Interpolation

Old Dec 31, 2002, 1:05 PM   #1

Default Pixels / resolution / Image size ???

Hey everyone. I'm new to this forum and in fact new to digital photography.

I work in a marketing department designing printed sales and support literature. So my background is definitely in the "printed" world. I primarly use CorelDraw, Corel PhotoPaint and Fireworks.

This whole "digital" concept is confusing me.

I'm trying to make the manuipulation / printing of my photos as fast as possible. (I'm figuring if I spend hours on the computer messing with my pictures, I could have taken a roll of film in for processing much easier.

My background tells me all printed pictures need to at 300 dpi resolution. So do I need to resample every digital picture?
I was told NOT to resample as I would lose quality. I was told just to resize my photo to fit my media, 5x7, 8x10, etc. They also told me as I resized, my resolution would increase.

Unfortunately, when I reduce, indeed my photo gets smaller but I never actually see the resolution increase. It seems to stay at 72 no matter what I do, unless I resample.

Please help this old girl understand this whole process. Thanks for any hints you can give me.
CindyN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 2, 2003, 8:36 PM   #2

Default comments on resolution and resizing

The issues are with resolution and resizing. The number of pixels
you have stays constant (without resampling) and that is set
by the resolution seting on your camera. However, the 72 dpi that you are getting is the pixel density (DPI or Pixels per inch) and if you resize without resampling you can make the image larger or smaller and change the DPI to a setting you need.