Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Software > Resizing / Interpolation

Old Aug 16, 2006, 11:27 AM   #1

Hi

I have been taking photos at highest quality JPEGS, as the processing time is much shorter than using TIFF. The photos that are saved in my camera, are saved at 8MP, with a setting of 96dpi.

I am looking to amend the 96dpi number to 300dpi (without actually resampling the photo). This would allow me to open up the photos in FreeHand at the correct size for printing. At the moment they open up far to large and I have to resize the images manually.

However I have not been able to find a program which will do this and resave the JPEG lossless. Seeing as the image itself isn't been changed, just the dpi number, it must be possible to create a lossless program/function to do this.

There are plenty of programs which offer lossless rotations, and that requires the image pixels to be moved.

I am not a programmer myself so I can't create such a program. I am hoping someone else has. I've not found anything on the internet so far which will do the job.

Another reason I don't want to use TIFF is that it takes up a huge amount of disk space. A JPEG currently takes up 3-4MB, where as a LZW TIFF takes up 12-13MB.

Kind regards

Timothy Langner
timflang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 17, 2006, 11:13 PM   #2

Tim, I doubt that there would be any noticable image degradation from even a regular, lossy save-as. It takes multiple recompressions before you notice any difference.

On the technical side, is there any actual recompression going on in this case anyway? Resolution is stored as metadata, it isn't image information per se. If you just resaved (no save as) under a different resolution, is there still loss?