Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Samsung

Old Feb 12, 2009, 4:21 AM   #1

Afternoon everyone,

I was wondering if someone here can help me out.

I'm an absolute amateur photographer and have almost always simply used the Auto Mode on any camera I had. I therefore have very limited knowledge on anything regarding photography. I bought the Digital Camera Bible a few days ago and am busy studying that as we speak.

Irecently bought a Samsung WB500 / HZ10W and since this camera has a Manual Setting in which I can change things like shutterspeed and aperture, I was hoping to use this camera to learn these functions more properly and takebetter photos.

I have several types ofphotos I would like to take using the Manual Mode of the Camera but am still puzzled as to which setting I need to have for which type of photo. What I basically need to know is what, in general, good settings are when using the Manual mode for aperture, shutterspeed and the like for taking good sharp photo's of the environments I'm going to describe below:
  • IceHockey photo's
    I frequently go to see hockey games and would very much like to take sharp, fully zoomed in action shots of a player taking a slapshot or something like that. This means I will be using the 10X optical zoom to the max and would still like to have very sharp images of extremely fast movements
  • Close Up Insect and Plant photo's
    I would like to take photo's of plants and insects I see, in which the subject would need to be very sharp and the background blurred.
  • Scenery photo's
    I would like to take photo's of landscapes and impressive sights I see. This means very sharp images where the detail in the distance should be as sharp as it can possibly be
  • Indoor photo's with low light
    I would like to shoot photo´s indoor with low light without using the flash and still having nice sharp images with descenet exposure