Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sanyo

Old Apr 12, 2009, 8:04 PM   #1

Just got my sanyo xacti vpc-cg10 a few days ago and have been messing around with it in a variety of situations to get a feel of what it's capable of. BTW, this is my first post here, but not the first time I've been to the site.

Anyway, just want to make it clear I'm no pro photographer, but I do have some technical knowledge. I'll try to be as detailed as possible, but don't expect anything terribly in depth. I figured I'd just throw up a bunch of sample stills and video and let you guys decide for yourself. I'll also probably be referring to the samples quite abit in this post to describe certain aspects.

The photo and video samples can be downloaded at the following links.
There's also a pic of a test pattern. Obviously not framed correctly, but the print quality wasn't worth it anyway.
Product specs

I should also note that the majority of the photos were taken with the noise reduction turned off. AFAIK the noise reduction technology on this isn't anything I couldn't do with software after. I also noticed virtually no difference with the noise reduction on or off (except for the wind silencer).

Now on to what I think about this thing...

I paid $260CAD + tax for this camera. My main purpose in buying it was for the 720p video. My dad has a Canon TX1 and I have used it plenty. I figured I'd get my own so I don't have to keep bothering him to borrow his.

Below are some pix of the box contents, the camera, and the camera next to a deck of cards so you can get an idea of the size.

The camera takes video at 720p@30fps, 640x480@60fps and 640x480@30fps. Stills can be taken at 10MP full frame with 12MP interpolated and 7MP wide, it also offers the usual lower resolutions. It can also record just audio and uses a stereo mic.