Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jul 31, 2007, 11:43 AM   #1

Hi all,

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I recently made the dive into the DSLR realm. Up to this point, I've done a lot of point and shoot photos, so I'm still learning the whole exposureversus sensitivityversus focal length thing. I plan to use the DSLR for all around shooting, but one of my primary goals in upgrading is to improve the photos I take of my kids in band. I purchased a Sony alpha on a sale where I got the kit 18-70MM lens along with a 75-300MM/F4.5-5.6 lens.

My problem has always been the fine line between speed and light. This is due to the fact that most shows are after dark, under the lights at a football field, but I need speed to capture the movement. From what I've been able to shoot so far, I get pretty decent pictures at show time with my smaller lense, but I can't zoom much with that lens. The longer lens seemed a good bit darker, even during the day, so I honestly have not taken the chance to play with it during a show.

Most of my shooting so far has been in auto mode or the sport scenemode, because it was more important to me at the time to get decent shots, than play with the other settings. I'll be getting into more play situations this fall, but I'm wondering what my expectations should be. I'm sure learning more about controlling the camera will help, but I'm also wondering if I'm working with a severe limitation with my choice of lenses at this point.

My main question to you all, is what should I be digging into at this point? Do I just need to take the time to learn more about settings? Or are there lenses out there that will make my job easier? Or is it a combo of both. For those of you who shoot similar situations, are there lens recommendations you would make?

Thanks for your time,

khokhonutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links