Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Oct 17, 2011, 7:12 AM   #1
Default Minolta AF 35-70 versus Konica Minolta D5 Kit lens

Hi Folks,

I just bought a 2nd hand old Konica Minolta D5. in the ebay listing it stated it was supposed to come with a 18-70mm Minolta lens, presumably the kit one that the camera was launched with and that I read the reviews for.

Instead it came with a Minolta AF 35-70mm lens. I think it is reviewed here: http://kurtmunger.com/minolta_af_35_...viewid180.html, and seems to be relatively good if very old.

I am a complete beginner to the whole SLR world so really have no idea what I am doing.

My question to the massed experts on this forum is:

Is the lens I got considerably less good than kit lens I was supposed to get? Especially taking into account the fact I am a beginner and will most likely be using one general lens for sometime.

I am trying to discern if I should be bothered going back to the seller. If the one I have been sent is roughly similar I dont think there is any point complaining or anything.

Many thanks!
bigchiefally is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2011, 7:57 AM   #2

The 35-70 focal length means you've got no wide-angle capability at all. Since this is your only lens, you'll probably find that to be a handicap.

On the other hand, either of the Minolta 35-70 lenses (Yes, there were two.) is better than the 18-70 where their ranges overlap. They are also slightly faster.

As an all purpose lens, the 18-70 is a better choice for someone just starting out, but if you know what you want, and don't need the wide angle capabilities you don't have now, then either of the 35-70 lenses isn't a bad choice.