Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Nov 27, 2012, 9:45 PM   #1
Default What type of lens should I get?

I'm pretty new to this whole dslr thing but I've had my Sony a55 slr camera for about a year now. I got the lens kit that came with it and I'm ready for something a bit more.

I use my camera to primarily take pictures of my kids and family and other various things. I'd really like to start taking nice portraits of my family as well. I'm not sure where to begin on looking for a better lens. I'd like to have a larger focal length than what I have with the lens kit and I'd like a smaller f-stop as well as it only goes down to around 4.

I'm also not wanting to spend an arm and a leg for the lens. The max I'd like to spend is around $300-400

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

AlexnMaxsMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 28, 2012, 5:25 AM   #2

There are a number of different lenses that could satisfy your needs, but I don't think there's one that coud satisfy them all. Plus, you haven't been really specific about what you want to shoot.