Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old May 29, 2006, 4:24 PM   #1

Hi folks, this is my first post. I just received my 7D with 28-75 2.8 from Adorama (great deal at $900), and Tamron 28-300 walkaround ($150 at Cord). Thank you for your excellent posts, especially JimC. Years ago I was an avid amateur, 7xi, 50 1.7, 28-80 and 100-300 xi zooms. I'm looking forward to the digital learning experience.

I'm a former scientist so I decided to do a semi-scientific comparison of Minolta v Canon v Nikon lenses. I don't know if all this info has been posted before, but I'll give you my novice opinion and you can let me know if I'm way off. I choose the following lenses because I own them or want them, so this is not comprehensive. I compared similar lenses at Photodo, using identical or similar focal lengths and specs. I looked for the most recent new prices, and I realize some Minoltas my not be available (but Sony should be similar in quality and price). If available, I used IS/anti-shake lenses for Canon and Nikon. Remember, I couldn't always compare apples to apples, I got as close as I could (such as the Nikon 60 macro v Minolta 50).

In almost all available comparisons the quality of the lenses, using the overall grade, were extremely close (within 10%). Let me repeat that, assuming Photodo does a good job with a good lens, the quality grades were all very close. No one company is clearly superior. However, the prices often varied more than 10% between lowest and highest. So, I picked out the best and worst "value" in each lens class. The results, best value listed first, worst value listed second (Canon=C, Minolta=M, Nikon=N):

50 1.7 M and C N (Nikon 37% more)

85 1.4 CN (Canon 85 1.8 great value, Nikon 300% more!)

50 2.8 macro C N (Minolta was close, Nikon 65% more)

100 2.8 macro C N (Again, Minolta was close, Nikon 76% more)

17-35 D + G M C (Canon 51% more)