Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 17, 2006, 10:00 PM   #1

I'm new to digital SLRs and just got my KM 7D. Tomorrow I'm going to try and take some sailboat racing pictures and the forecast is sunny and hot. I'll be basically using the automatic settings but I'm wondering is there anything I can do to avoid getting a blue cast (especially on white sails) when shooting on these kind of days. Any tips for this and shooting from a moving boat is appreciated.
sail978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 17, 2006, 10:46 PM   #2

You've been getting a blue cast outdoors using Auto White Balance? I haven't seen that problem with my 5D (but, it can be a common problem with digital cameras in some conditions, for example: snow). We don't get much of that (snow) here in Savannah. ;-)

Sometimes a color cast with snow can be helped with a brighter exposure (use a +EV Setting with Exposure Compensation). But, you don't want to overexpose and blow any highlights.

But, chances are, you're just seeing a White Balance issue if you're getting a blue cast. Shooting in raw is your best bet for correcting any white balance related issues (since it's easier to change "after the fact"), or use raw + jpeg (so you've got photos both ways). Shooting raw will also make it easier to correct exposure issues if you're shooting in harsh lighting. Make sure you've lots of memory card space shooting that way, though.

You could also try using a preset white balance (versus Auto White Balance), or even a custom white balance setting (the camera sets the white balance for the temperature of the light from a photographic gray card or white card in the lighting you are shooting in).