Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Sony Alpha dSLR / Konica Minolta dSLR, Sony SLT

Old Jun 26, 2006, 7:36 PM   #1

I'm a beginner amateur photographer who has been shooting a fair bit for the last seven months with my Maxxum 5D digital SLR and doing a lot of research and reading regarding equipment and technique. One elusive thing that seems to bother a lot of newcomers to the SLR world, and has troubled me, is choosing lenses. What are the most useful focal lengths, what do I like, and how does the 1.5x crop factor affect this decision? I've been using the kit lens as my wide angle, with a couple of other telephoto lenses. After buying and selling a few, reviewing the exif data in my archives and galleries, and reading many articles and forums I've come to some conclusions.

A good lens kit should generally cover Wide, Normal, and Telephoto ranges. Super wide and Super telephoto are rather specialized ranges and will not be covered by this beginner.
Wide 16-24mm (35mm: 24-36)
Normal 28-35mm (35mm: 43-54)
Telephoto 46-135mm (35mm: 70-206)
A decent prime lens collection would allow you the freedom to choose a zoom that leans more toward convenience rather than trying to get everything right. High quality zooms are of limited range and end up not being much, if any, more convenient than primes were to begin with because the ones on the market currently do not cover the wide range. A lens like the newly announced (June '06) Tokina 16-50mm f/2.8 will change that, but they are not very prevalent yet. The highest quality pro zooms have excellent quality, but rarely match the speed, bokeh, close focusing distance, and sharpness of prime lenses. Primes are also lighter and more compact, and can help you compose more thoughtfully. I have decided to build a collection of prime lenses with one super-zoom lens for convenience. Here are my notes.