Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 16, 2004, 11:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Default f717 - histogram changes to a circled 'X' in telezoom

now i realized that that circled X was actually the histogram view changing when crossing over from wide angle to tele zoom in the f717.
why does that happen? is it because it cant distinguish brightness differences in the scene?
agodbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 21, 2004, 12:04 PM   #2
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 29

Hi, I just replied to your earlier post before I saw this one. Oops. As far as why, who knows. Maybe in the digital zoom, since it magnifies the pixels, it no longer can calculate the brightness, or maybe it can't calculate the Histogram for anything other than the full chip? Beats me, I just lurk here<g>. Glad you figured it out. Take it easy
Mhardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2004, 12:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
UrbanPhotos's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 382

The histogram doesn't work when using digital zoom, or in 3:2 mode.

I always turn off the digital zoom in the setup menu unless I need it (which is rare, since I prefer to shoot without digital zoom and crop).
UrbanPhotos is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:33 AM.