Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Jun 7, 2004, 4:09 PM   #1

I've been using a DSC-F505 for several years and I just upgraded to a DSC-F717. I am an extreme amateur who has had the good fortune of getting some nice pictures due primarily to good locations (lots of travelling). I never subjected my 505 to rigorous testing (e.g., are all colors perfectly replicated), but I got some very nice pictures of flowers, etc. without making any manual adjustments to it.

WELL, now I've been putting this new 717 to the test, and I have a rather disturbing problem: frequently, I am getting poor color reproduction and/or over-exposed pictures. When I shoot indoors and use either flourescent or incandescent white balance, things look pretty good, however, I went to a flower garden nearby to test out color accuracy, and here is some of what happened:

purples => appear more blue or pink than they should, depending on lighting

pinks => appear more white than they should

reds => appeared orange, at least under cloudy conditions

greens (plant leaves) => appear more yellow

sky => appears over-exposed

I was able to correct some of these problems by setting EV to -1.0, but my 505 would have EV set to 0 and look the same. I am shooting in the P mode, with manual or auto focus, and have tried all white balances.

Can too high an exposure cause the color problems that I listed above? Like I said, setting EV down seemed to help significantly. But then the question is, why should it NOT be set to 0 in everyday outdoor conditions??

Can anybody give me advice on what I am doing wrong, or does my camera have a problem (if it has a problem, that to me does not explain why it takes good indoor pictures, so I think it must be some setting or my technique).

nseybert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 12, 2004, 4:50 PM   #2