Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Jun 22, 2004, 6:24 PM   #1

After reading this discussion board, Steve's reviews, reviews on epinions.com and dpreview, I thought I had it down to the Sony W1 or the Nikon 5200. I really wanted to go with the Nikon 5200 because I don't like propietary bent of Sony. I went to a store nearby to check them both out. Then, I saw the Sony V1 which I never considered because I thought it was too big. Now I am totally undecided .

Here's what I want in a camera:

1) Very good auto mode. I never learned about all those fancy features on my Canon and now admit I never will. I am not a professional photographer and never will be.

2) Better flash. I take more and more pictures of my kids indoors, and just really hate how much time I spend on the PC trying to fix the pictures which then end up grainy.

3) Relatively small & lightweight, but since I'm female, I do carry a purse, so pocket-sized isn't a requirement. The Canon G5 just seems too big.

I'm concerned about the V1's poor battery, and the extra expense of converting to Sony. I use my camera a LOT for quick snaps of the kids, vacation shots, family holidays, etc.

Any and all advice is very much appreciated. I want to sleep again.

mmp003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 23, 2004, 2:13 AM   #2

>>I use my camera a LOT for quick snaps of the kids, vacation shots, family holidays, etc.

I honestly think you have summed up why you don't need a V1!

There is a thread at this very moment one or two below this one where I posted about the V1. I didn't think it would suit the posters needs but in the end it did, so you never can say for sure. However this is what I'dthink in your circumstance....