Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Mar 15, 2005, 11:51 AM   #1

im new to digi cams, W1 is my first cam and i love it so far, only one thing... i cant seem to find out how to take a picture of something in motion?

what settings should i use?

im planning on taking pictures of cars going from 5-60 mph and i couldnt even get a clear shot of my friend just jumping in the air.

any help is helpful thank u
travlswhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 15, 2005, 1:04 PM   #2

As Albert Einstein would have reminded you (if he was here) everything is relative!

Shutter speed is certainly important if you want to stop action and how fast your shutter speed has to be depends on the angle at which your subjects are approaching you. A car coming straight for you doesn't move much relative to your field of view and so your shutter speed doesn't have to be as fast as when the car is passing directly across your field of view. You will likely get a blurred car and a clear background becausethe car has a lot of motion relative to the camera!

Of course, this is assuming a STATIONARY camera and a moving car. What happens if you move the camera as the car passes...keeping it in the viewfinder...while you take the shot? The car will be moving AND the camera will be moving with it...relative motion will be less...however, the background will be blurred because the camera will have a lot of motion relative to the background. This technique is called 'panning'..moving thecamera with the subject.

In photographig REALLY fastobjects (like bullets)...'panning' of course won't work...you can't move the camera fast enough and you won't be able to have a fast enough shutter speed to stop the bullet. In those cases, they use a very bright strobe that illuminates the bullet for a tiny fraction of a second and freezes the action that way.

Using a flash is how I caught my young nephew in mid-leap: