Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Sony

Old Apr 6, 2005, 2:19 PM   #1

Well, actually, I'm very new in the photography world.

I own the DSC-W12 for about 2 months, so it's a pity if I upgrade in such a short time.

It's not that I'm going to in the couple of months, as I don't have the money.

Still, now that I quite know the basics of functions, I want more , you know?

I hardly (want to) use the flash. Not only for its red-eye, but for it's totally changing light of that what is being photographed. Like concert shots. I don't like the completely disappearing effect of all the colours of lights, because of using the flash. Now I know the flash is not the W-12's strong point, maybe other flashes don't change the whole colour situation?

There's this teacher who also make photo's of concerts, without any flash, just like me, but who has a VERY bright lens. Well it's a DSLR (a canon) with a lens of like €2000,- So, that of course is a totally different thing. The most noticable difference of his shots compared to mine is the focusing. He has a clear focus of a certain point, all the rest is not sharp:

I don't need that high end of a camera, though.

Of all the hundreds of shots from a concert I make, there are definitely some very good ones, I must say:

So, maybe I should buy an even bigger card, and take more shots, so there will be more good ones. The problem is still there, though, when for instance, there is a One Million dollar shot, and I can't take, because it's too dark, the object moves, or whatever.

Dark shots do work well, and the ones without anything moving, of course are easy to do, without any problems:

I think the DSC-V3 will be a good upgrade, for it's MORE manual options, flash compatibility.

Is the picture size bigger? When setting it at Wide? I mean, do you see more, than with the W-12 I have now? How do you call this thing?

Manolito_Mystiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links