Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 16, 2006, 8:15 AM   #1

First, alittle about myself: I've been shooting amateur photography for 30 years. 2 years ago I made the transition to digital. My main focus is kids sports, Baseball, soccer and football. I use a website to sell my photos to parents at a good price so that even low income parents can afford a pic of their kids, thus my business name: Lifetime Memories Productions.

http://printroom.com/pro/memories

My partner and I operate a photo booth on game day, we take turns shooting games, and manning the booth, taking orders onsite after proofs are printed with our laptop and printer, directly after a game. We have catalogs on the tables for parents to surf through, and order anything from montages (our biggest seller) to coffee mugs.

Currently I shoot with a Nikon D70s and a 70-300mm 4-5.6 G Nikkor lens (I have a 4-5.6ED VR lens on pre-order when they are released Oct.25th, woo hoo)

My primary focus is on football. I've been shooting it for 3 years now. Junior football, all the games are during the day, however living in the Pacific Northwest, we get alot of rain.

I've been somewhat successful getting good shots using shutter priority and setting it at around 500, while sacrificing a higher ISO. I try to find a nice balance between the two so that I don't have to spend hours on touch up (noise reduction, etc.) since I tend to shoot about 1200 photos over the span of 5 football games each Sat/Sun. (I avoid flash due to the distance I must shoot from across the field)

Would playing with my EV help reduce my ISO settings?

What would be your "minimum" shutter speed you'd use in rainy conditions?

What would be your "maximum" ISO you'd use in rainy conditions based on your above answer to shutter speed?

I'll admit I'm not too savvy with all the functions of this digital SLR so I'd appreciate any tips you pros have.

Thanks for all your help.

Brian