Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Jun 13, 2007, 10:34 PM   #1

Hi,
This may sound silly as there is no magic bullet, but.
This sunday night I will be going to yankee v. mets game at yankee stadium. I am new to the digital SLR world. I will have my pentax k10d and a sigma 28 - 200mm lens. I will be 6 rows from the field aprox at the yankee on deck circle. Help!!
any quick advice?????????

thanks
bob
BobTheNailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 13, 2007, 10:55 PM   #2

Quote:
any quick advice?????????
Don't wear a Red Sox or Braves jersey...
flippedgazelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2007, 11:10 PM   #3

Yankee gear all the way! ;-)
My usual seats are not this good. This a daddy's day treat for me from the wife.
BobTheNailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2007, 6:12 AM   #4

Well, besides enjoying the great seats:

200mm sounds like it's a lot of reach but in reality it isn't. You'll be hard pressed to get quality shots across the infield. If you want close up pix, try to get there for batting practice - or at least warm-ups. This way you can walk around a bit and get shots wherever the players are.

For gametime shots:

Set camera to Aperture Priority mode

Set aperture wide open (lowest F-stop)

Set focus mode to whatever Pentax calls AI-Servo

Set ISO to 400. Take some test shots of players - as long as you aren't running into the shutter speed limit (is it 1/4000 on the K10?) you're OK. As the game goes on, keep checking the shutter speeds you're getting. Any time you get near 1/500 - bump up the ISO so you stay faster than 1/500.

Keep the zoom at 200mm 99.9% of the time for shots action shots - you're still far enough away that a player will still fit in the frame at 200mm (except if they're in the on-deck circle right by you).