Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Aug 2, 2007, 4:24 PM   #1

Hey guys. I bought this lens about 2 weeks ago. Could you guys/gals give me some comments good/bad welcome. Im a newbie, I can take it. :-D

The lens is a Sigma Zoom Wide Angle-Telephoto 28-300mm f/3.5-6.3 DG Macro IF Autofocus Lens for Canon EOS. I got it for $279 @ BHphoto. Its on a Canon 30D.
Attached Images

Redop13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 2, 2007, 4:25 PM   #2

slide 2

Attached Images

Old Aug 2, 2007, 4:25 PM   #3

slide 3, he was safe.
Attached Images

Old Aug 2, 2007, 4:34 PM   #4

basehit
Attached Images

Old Aug 2, 2007, 4:35 PM   #5

home run swing, this won the ballgame.3 run homer
Attached Images

Old Aug 2, 2007, 5:40 PM   #6

Hey, welcome to the sports forum. Thanks for starting a new post with this so we don't hijack the other thread!!

For a first time sports shooter, these aren't too bad. In fact, you're off to a good start. There are definitely some things that will improve your quality though.
  • If you want to shoot sports you need to get out of the pre-fab modes. No AUTO or SPORTS mode - they just don't cut it. Your pics got a little better when you switched to sports mode, but your shutter speeds were still too slow because sports mode only uses ISO 400. With a 5.6 aperture lens you often need faster shutter speeds than ISO 400 will give you.[/*]
  • The easiest way to start is in Aperrture Priority (AV) mode. [/*]
    • Set the camera to AV mode, [/*]
    • set themetering to PARTIAL METERING - you want to meter off your subject - not the whole image, [/*]
    • set focus mode to AI-Servo[/*]
    • Set camera to burst mode[/*]
    • Set aperture to widest value (5.6 in your case)[/*]
    • set ISO to 400 to start.[/*]
    • For baseball it's OK to use all focus points to start. In other sports you'll get better results with just center point but in baseball that isn't much of an issue.[/*]