Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Feb 29, 2008, 12:12 PM   #1
Super Moderator

Hi all,

Apart from being annoyed that I just lost everything I typed due to a stupid computer, I thought this might help some new shooters out!!

I was thinking about how my shooting has changed since I started shooting sports at the end of 2005. Back then I was using a Konica Minolta 5D with Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 lens and hadn't got a clue about sports shooting.

Let me say before we go any further I'm not a master at sports photographer and every time I go out I try to learn something to improve for the next time, but I can see a good improvement and sure others will be able to follow in my footsteps.

Here are a couple of shots from '05.

I'm sure these are the sort of thing that most people will have captured or be able to.

What can be done to improve these shots?? I know some of you are shouting out the answers as you read this.

In no particular order:

Get lower, frame tighter, widen the aperture (smaller f number so for this lens it would have been to ensure I was at f5.6 when at 300mm and f4 when at 70).

Getting lower willbringyou more into the action and give a much more pleasing angle on the pitch. It is easier to pick up the facial expressions (not only in hockey but most other sports). Italso means that players further away are nottowering over thecloser player which looks strange.To overcome this I have a 2 options that i generally use. Iwheneverything is really wet/muddy etc I will use a small stool but for the best angle I prefer to sit on the ground.For my comfort I'veput a piece of foam (actually a Wimbledon seat cover) in a black plastic bag so it is protected and use that. This means the foam is protected and also I don't get a cold bottom whichat this timeof year is an issue.