Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Sep 6, 2008, 3:13 PM   #1

I've been using a P/S at this airshow since 2005. Got a DSLR back in June, this was my first real attempt at shooting fast moving objects. These are shot with a Canon 40d with a 70-300mm lens.

Bourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 7, 2008, 7:47 AM   #2

Glad to see you decided to post some photos! For a fist time I think you did well.

I'll take a bit of time to comment on each:

1. Ok every one but this one - I just think the jet truck thing is silly

2. The planes themselves are just too far away - the trail could make for a nice shot but too much of it is cut out of the frame - making the planes the only real subject and they're just too small in the frame.

3. Plane is just too small in the frame. Reality is it was too far away. That's a frustrating thing about any type of action shooting - ignoring the action that's too far away to capture. Your subject (whether a plane or the trails) should dominate the frame not take up about 15% of it. So resist the urge to shoot subjects too far away. Be patient.

4. Over-exposure is the biggest issue here. Also 1/500 is too slow - try to get above 1/1000.

5. Over-exposure again - and framing. It looks a bit akward pushed against the bottom of the frame here with all the dead space on top.

6. Again, overexposed. That overexposure keeps the colors from popping. I like the timing of the shot with just one wheel down. But the pan is a bit off so there is some blur. Don't feel bad though - panning isn't easy - it takes practice. I don't do it enough so a LOT of my pans from the show were tossed out.

7. Sharpest image so far. Nice capture. The only problem is the framing - the plane is pushed up into the right corner of the frame. Don't misunderstand - you're not going to get framing perfect in-camera. But that's what post processing is for. A different crop and this would be a strong image.