Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Oct 20, 2008, 11:44 PM   #1

Im a photography student at cu denver so i know alot about photography but I dont know everything, I read everything the people have to say about sports photography especially John G and learn so much
such as: shoot ice hockey from ice level,
shoot in portriat, etc
So heres my situation I shoot ice hockey mostly, but want to also shoot socccer, football, but dont have the lenses to do it.

Canon 40D, canon 70-200 f 2.8 IS, canon 24-70 f 2.8

not good shots, just for examples

ice hockey with good lightning

bad lighting rink, too much noise at iso 3200

At the ice hockey rink i can get high enough shutter speed with my 70-200 f 2.8 at 800 ISO with my canon 40D
at the other rink the lighting is bad and at 2.8 i get shutter speeds around 400, too slow, and at ISO 3200 its just too noisy , It jumps from 1200 to 3200 on the 40D I think
there is just too much noise so, i have stopped shooting at that rink, also I find that the reach of a 200mm on the 40D is not enough for the whole rink,
what would u suggest to do about that,

Next problem for football, soccer, I want to get a new lense say a 300mm or 400mm
So I know most of the lenses out there, I have about $ 1000-1500

Canon 100-400 f 4.5-5.6 IS (i know is does not stop motion) around $1500
its too slow for anything under the lights,

Canon 300 f 4, around 1300 ( also slow but no IS)

Canon 400 f 5.6 ( good magnification for sports but slow and can not user under the lights)

or my canon 70-200 with a 1.4 or 2X teleconverter, but then image degradation and will also be slow, no night shooting.

I know the lenses like 400 f2.8 like the pros use and such, but like 10 grand.

so what would the best option be in this situation. which lenses or lense combinations.
Sorrry about the long post, but just wanted to get this sorted out one and for all.

thanks for your info

Brett.