Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Nov 18, 2008, 1:46 PM   #1

Can I get some constructive criticism on a few of my favorite action shots please.
I am brand new to the dslr and really only have a few years of high school 35mm photography class under my belt. So pretty much I'm brand new to this game.

With that being said... I bought a D80 a few days ago and on my second day with the camera I hit the local skate park for a few hours. I shot about 400 pictures and kept about 6. Hows that for a trash ratio. Man I love digital... it almost feels like cheating.

So if you don't mind taking a look at a few of my pictures and giving me some feedback. Thanks a bunch guys. Ryan

http://www.flickr.com/photos/32510192@N04/

syke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 18, 2008, 5:28 PM   #2

You did a nice job.

I like how you work in alternate framings, use of shadows, fences and angles.

The more practice you get, the more "keepers" you'll have.

Nothing wrong with taking lots of photos though - not like it's costing you anything!
terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2008, 6:37 PM   #3

Thank you much... I appreciate the input.
Old Nov 20, 2008, 8:38 AM   #4

The first one would be better if the boy in the background were on the right side of the picture to balance it out. Or you could take him out completely. I like the "pose" of the boy in the foreground and I like the way only a little of his face is showing. The second one is OK but it doesn't have the same appeal as the first or the last. The last is interesting because of the position of the bike and boy as well as the shadow of the fence.

Glenn
Lyrics51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2008, 6:28 PM   #5

Thanks for the critique....