Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Feb 2, 2009, 7:16 PM   #1

After seeing some of JohnG's photos, I almost didn't post. Too intimidated and embarrassed by my first effort at volleyball shots. After reading some posts on here, I tried to do what was suggested but it's "easy said than done" me thinks.

I shot these with a Nikon D60, using abrand new Nikkor70-200 f/2.8 VR lens. Most were shot manual at 1/400, 2.8, ISO 800. Some were ISO 3200. I read some of JohnG's tips prior to the weekend, but I still need to frame the shot better (along with just about everything else).The noise, blur, and overall lack of sharpness is beyond me to figure out. I had tons of noiseso I used NoiseNinja, butit seemed to just make stuff plasticky.

I don'teven know where to start in terms of what to fix the next time I head out in two weeks, soyoursuggestions will be much appreciated. I'm a newb some please don't hesitate to "dumb it down" for me....

Edited to try to resize photo 1 (but now itseems too big when I preview it)and to add numbers to the photos.

DEC22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 3, 2009, 7:27 AM   #2

Welcome to the forums. Don't worry about being a "newbie", this is the place to ask your questions and learn. You will find a great group of people who are more than willing to help.

Pic 1 did not load fully, I don;t know why but ow well
Pic 2 + 5 I liked
Pic 3 needs to be cropped tighter and straightened
Pic 4 maybe a little too close
Keep at it and keep posting.

Best regard,
Phil
k1par is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2009, 8:43 AM   #3

Hey, no need to be weary! This is a great start. Youve captured peak action, faces and the ballin most of the shots. Believe it or not, thats the toughest part of shooting...when to press the button and how to compose the frame. One you get the settings down, itll be automatic. Here are a few observations:

-get rid of the -1EV

-level your shots