Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Sports & Action Photos

Old Feb 6, 2009, 1:05 AM   #1

I've been viewing the site for a few months and have picked up a lot of great advice from what others are doing. I thought it was time to upload a few of my own for some extra help. I'm using a canon 40d with a Sigma 70-200 2.8 or a 85mm 1.8 lens. Because of the terrible lighting in our home gym I've pretty much given up on the 2.8. I generally use an expodisk for white balance and a manual exposure setting. Generally, at 1600 iso, 1.8, and 1/320. I'm looking for any advice I can get, but particularly in the area of sharpness. I get some shots that are tack sharp, but what seems like too many that are soft. (Compare #1 and #2 for an example of this) I'm wondering if this is the camera focus or something I'm doing. Any thoughts on more sharp photos would be apprectiated. I have done nothing but some cropping on these pictures so you can see how they come out of the camera.

Thanks for any advice,

Walter

wbrink is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2009, 5:07 AM   #2

Walter,

If you could edit your post (the site allows you to edit your own post) and replace the first images with re-sized ones that would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

John
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2009, 12:49 PM   #3

I'm looking forward to seeing what responses you get as this is the same problem I have. I tried out my new 85mm 1.8 lens on Tuesday at the boys' basketball game and got some decent shots but the focus was not sharp enough. Going to the girls' game tonite to try some more.
SadieBodean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 6, 2009, 1:36 PM   #4

I think I got it right this time.

Walter
Old Feb 6, 2009, 1:53 PM   #5

Great. Thanks! Much easier to look at and review.